| May 10, 2017 | 0 Comments

A New Era


Atlanta United FC defender Greg Garza was a member of the opening day roster for the team that will soon play in the new Mercedes-Benz Stadium. Photo by Jacob Kupferman/CSM via AP Images

By Greg Echlin

The U.S. Soccer Federation is intent on making the United States a major player in the FIFA World Cup men’s and women’s soccer tournaments every four years. And one of its key strategies for realizing that goal is to create more opportunities for players to grow in the game.

The USSF now recognizes three professional men’s outdoor soccer leagues: Major League Soccer (Division I), the U.S. Soccer League and the North America Soccer League (both Division II). The National Women’s Soccer League (Division I) is the sole USSF-recognized women’s professional league. Given that all four of these leagues continue to expand into new markets, U.S. soccer appears to be heading in the right direction.

To read the rest of this story in the digital edition of SportsTravel, please click here.

Tags: , ,

Category: Destination Feature

Leave a Reply